lunes, 29 de diciembre de 2008

Jacqui Naylor

You Don’t Know Jacq is Jacqui Naylor’s seventh recording and highlights new arrangements of the most popular songs from her earlier recordings plus new original music. On this recording, Jacqui showcases her signature “acoustic smashing” technique, singing jazz standards over rock classics or vice versa, like The Gershwins’ “Summertime” over The Allman Brothers’ “Whipping Post” or Rodgers & Hart’s “My Funny Valentine” over AC/DC’s “Back in Black.” Her covers of the new classics are equally represented here with a bossa nova take on REM’s “Losing My Religion,” a gospel-flavored version of The Bee Gees’ disco-era ballad “How Deep is Your Love,” and a Jamaican-infused dance interpretation of The Rolling Stones’ “Miss You.” Of course, no Jacqui Naylor album would be complete without showing her jazz chops; here she revisits the Bill Barnes classic “Something Cool” from her very first CD and writes a swing tune called “This Is The Spot” as a “thank you” to jazz radio stations across the country. Other strong new originals on this recording include the beautiful first single “Celebrate Early and Often,” the optimistic “Dreamin’ Big With You,” and “Rise Up,” which was written to inspire people to vote and is currently featured on YouTube and the Obama/Biden website.
Naylor and her band will tour nationwide and internationally in support of You Don’t Know Jacq. Check out for the full tour schedule.
“The process, which Ms. Naylor calls ‘acoustic smashing’ marked a turning point in her career, with play on some rock stations.” – Wall Street Journal
“Naylor can serve up classic covers with the best of them, deliver top-draw originals and inspire with the musical marriage she calls ‘acoustic smashing’.”– Jazz Times
“The words and melody are Gershwin’s ‘Summertime’ but the groove is Allman’s ‘Whipping Post.’ Naylor has the chops and sensibility to pull it off.” – New York Magazine
“Jacqui’s ‘acoustic smashing’ of the great American songbook with the classic rock and roll songbook brings both forms to life in a way never heard before.”–
Ken Dashow Q-104 NY

CD: You Don't Know Jacq
Fecha de Lanzamiento: 01 de noviembre de 2008
Disquera:Ruby Star Records

1 How Deep Is Your Love
2 Summertime
3 Celebrate Early and Often
4 Losing My Religion
5 Black Coffee
6 Dreamin' Big With You
7 Thank You Baby
8 Tell Me More and More and Then Some
9 Miss You
10 This Is The Spot
11 Something Cool
12 Shelter
13 Rise Up
14 My Funny Valentine
15 Ain't No Sunshine
16 City By The Bay



Volver al comienzo